What Can I Do?

Advocacy is a way of claiming our history as Americans. The birth of our nation is founded on the articulation of grievances in the Declaration of Independence. It served to break bonds with England and legitimized resistance. The Boston Tea Party was just one of many revolutionary acts that lead to the creation of our great country.

It was followed by the U.S. Constitution. The very first amendment of this vast document set forth the rights of citizens to dissent, which is the lifeblood of democracy.

PPN believes it is our responsibility, as citizens of a democracy, to keep our government and those who represent us accountable to voters, and to uphold those principles set forth these documents.

There are numerous ways that citizens can become informed and involved in decisions made by their government. Here are two resources for learning about upcoming elections and ways to influence them:

You can also use the online toolkit to learn about who our representatives are, how government works and what policies are being proposed that affect us and our community.  In this way, you can advocate for policies in our best interest.

Toolbox for Advocates

National Legislation & Regulations
  • Library of Congress
  • Countable – Legislation being introduced in Congress, pro and cons, link to contact
  • Five Calls, Make Your Voice Heard – A quick and easy way to call your congressional representatives,
  • Congressional Budget Office – Nonpartisan reports on the fiscal and program impact of legislation
  • U.S. General Accountability Office (GAO) – This agency conducts independent investigations of government programs to ensure taxpayer funds are being spent well and as intended by congress.
  • Sunlight Foundation – This foundation advocates for transparancy in decisions made by elected officials.
  • Tax Policy Center – The Urban Institute and the Brookings Institute analyze legislative proposals and prepare reports on how they will impact citizens.
  • Federal Regulations
State & National Representatives for GA

House of Representatives

State House of Representatives

State Senate

Local - Cherokee and Clay Counties, NC

Clay County, NC

  • Mayor Harry Baughn
  • Town Council Members are Joe Slaton, Will Penland, and Austin Hedden
  • Mailing Address:
    • Town of Hayesville, P.O. Box 235, Hayesville, NC  28904
  • Phone: (828)389-1862
  • Email:
  • Hours:  MWF 9:00 to 1:00
  • Town Council Meetings:  2nd Monday each month at 5:30 @ 56 Sanderson Street (Town Hall)
  • Clay County Commissioners are Clay Logan, Ed Roach, Robert Penland, Randy Nichols and Rob Peck.

Cherokee County, NC

  • Mayor Rick Ramsey
    • 5 Wofford St Murphy, NC 28906
    • 828-837-2510
  • City Council
    • City Council includes Barry McClure, Gail Stansell, Noland Smith, Frank Dickey, Karen Watson and Barbara Hughes.
    • County commissioners’ meetings 1st & 3rd Monday’s of each month at 6:30 pm. Meetings held at Cherokee County Courthouse, 75 Peachtree St, Multipurpose Rm 342, . 828-837-5527
    • Cherokee County Commissioners are Cal Stiles, CB McKinnon, Gary Westmoreland, Dr. Dan Eichenbaun and Roy Dickey.
Vote in Upcoming Elections

See Also : A Close Look at the Six Constitutional Amendments on Your Ballot

In 2018, there will be elections in local and state governments and Congress. Here you will find information on what seats are up for election, where to vote and other voting resources. Check back often as this section will be updated as new information on candidates becomes available.

North Carolina

  • Congressman Meadows (R) is up for re-election. Visit our  
  • The congressmen and state representatives have opposition; visit our candidate positions page for more info 


Clay County Elections (November 6)

  • Sheriff
  • Clerk of Court
  • Register of Deeds
  • 2 seats on school board
  • 3 seats on county commissioners
  • All counties and local governments have an office charged with monitoring and conducting elections, usually the Board of Elections. In some jurisdictions, this entity may have a different name, such as Board of Registrars, but it has the same authority and responsibilities as a Board of Elections.
  • Each county will have several geographical voting precincts and poll locations for the day of each election, to find where you are allowed to vote, call the county office and give them your address. Early voting is usually located at the main county office. Call for early voting dates and deadlines.

Towns County Elections

  • None scheduled this year.

Union County Elections

  • No election of the commissioner

Board of Elections

  • Clay County Board of Elections
    54 Church Street
    Hayesville, NC 28904
    828-389-3757 (fax)
  • Cherokee County Board of Elections
    40 Peachtree Street
    Murphy, NC 28906
    828-837-7998 (fax)
  • NC State Board of Elections
  • Union County Board of Elections
    Union County Annex II
    76 B Hunt Martin Street
    Blairsville, GA 30512
    Phone: (706) 439-6041
    Fax: (706) 439-6009
    Union County has 11 Voting Precincts
  • Towns County Board of Elections and Registration
    Towns County Civic Center
    67 Lakeview Circle
    Hiawassee, GA, 30546 – 0000
    Towns County has three voting precincts

Election Day polling place hours are 7 am – 7 pm.

Voting Resources


Ways to Make a Difference
  • Attending or sponsoring a Town Hall and inviting elected officials
  • Hosting candidate forums
  • Writing letters to the editor of local newspapers
  • Writing letters to representatives and meeting with elected officials
  • Commenting on officials’ Facebook and Twitter pages
  • Participating in social media groups devoted to an interest area
  • Presenting your views at public hearings on bills
  • Commenting on proposed regulations
  • Serving on regulatory work groups
  • Serving on citizen advisory committees
  • Participating in studies called for by state legislatures
  • Participating in political campaigns and/or protests
  • Joining or partnering with other like-minded organizations to lobby
  • Making financial contributions to candidates and organizations supporting your position
  • Participating in community projects to make the world a better place
  • Voting and helping to get out the vote
Local - Towns and Union Counties, GA
Towns County, GA

  • Cliff Bradshaw, County Commissioner
  • Hiawassee Mayor Liz Ordiales
    • City Hall, 50 River Street, Hiawassee, Ga 30546
    • Phone: 706-896-2202
    • Hiawassee Council Members: Kris Berrong, Amy Barrett, Patsy Owens, Nancy Noblet, Anne Mitchell. The city council meets the first Tuesday of the month at 6 pm.

Union County, GA

  • Lamar Paris, Commissioner
  • Blairsville Mayor Jim Conley
    • Po Box 307, 62 Blue Ridge St, Blairsville, 30514 . (706) 745-2000
    • Council Members: Rhonda Mahan, Tony Dyer, Betty Easter, Martha Cone and Buddy Moore.
    • The council holds regular meetings at 6 pm on the first Tuesday of each month in the conference room. Agendas may be obtained from city hall prior to the meeting.

City of Young Harris, GA

  • Council Meetings are the first Tuesday of each month at 7 pm and are open to the public. Anyone wishing to speak should call ahead to have their name added to the agenda.
  • City of Young Harris, 50 Irene Berry Drive, P.O. Box 122, Young Harris, GA  30582
  • Phone: 706-379-3171
  • Young Harris Mayor is Andrea Gibby
  • Council Members: Jared Champion, John Kelley, Samuel Leslie, Matthew Miller, Stuart Miller, Angela Smith
State & National Representatives for NC
US House of Representatives

US Senate

State Senate

State House of Representatives

State Legislation & Regulations
Miscellaneous Resources